Investigators

Faculty page Email Department/Division Affiliation Investigator Investigator specialization
David E. Adson, MD adson001@umn.edu Department of Psychiatry UMN Associate Investigator
Jeffrey H. Albrecht, MD albre010@umn.edu Department of Medicine UMN Participating Investigator Adipose Biology, Obesity and Energy Metabolism
Emilyn U. Alejandro, PhD ealejand@umn.edu Department of Integrative Biology and Physiology UMN Participating Investigator Adipose Biology, Obesity and Energy Metabolism
Sharon S. Allen, MD, PhD allen001@umn.edu Family Medicine and Community Health UMN Participating Investigator Adult Obesity Treatment and Prevention
Grant W. Anderson, PhD ander163@umn.edu Pharmacy Practice & Pharmaceutical Sciences UMN Associate Investigator
Edgar A. Arriaga, PhD arriaga@umn.edu Chemistry UMN Associate Investigator
Timothy L. Barnes, PhD tlbarnes@umn.edu Epidemiology & Community Health UMN Associate Investigator
Alessandro Bartolomucci, PhD abartolo@umn.edu Integrative Biology & Physiology UMN Participating Investigator Adipose Biology, Obesity and Energy Metabolism, Neuroscience of Obesity
Ananda Basu, MD basu.ananda@mayo.edu Medicine, Endocrinology & Metabolism Mayo Clinic Participating Investigator Human Energy Metabolism
Rita Basu, MD basu.rita@mayo.edu Medicine, Endocrinology & Metabolism Mayo Clinic Participating Investigator Human Energy Metabolism
Tiffany R. Beckman, MD, MPH beckm004@umn.edu Department of Medicine UMN Participating Investigator Neuroscience of Obesity
Kelly C. Berg, PhD bergx143@umn.edu Psychiatry UMN Associate Investigator
Jerica M. Berge, PhD jberge@umn.edu Family Medicine & Community Health UMN Participating Investigator Childhood Obesity, Eating Disorders
David A. Bernlohr, PhD bernl001@umn.edu Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics UMN Participating Investigator Adipose Biology, Obesity and Energy Metabolism, Human Energy Metabolism, Nutrition, Obesity and Cancer
Charles J. Billington, MD billi005@umn.edu Center for Diabetes Research VAMC Participating Investigator Adipose Biology, Obesity and Energy Metabolism, Adult Obesity Treatment and Prevention, Childhood Obesity, Neuroscience of Obesity
Ann M. Bode, PhD ambode@hi.umn.edu Hormel Institute UMN Participating Investigator Nutrition, Obesity and Cancer
William S. (Stephen) Brimijoin, PhD brimijoi@mayo.edu Pharmacology Mayo Clinic Participating Investigator Neuroscience of Obesity
Rhoderick E. Brown, PhD rebrown@hi.umn.edu Hormel Institute UMN Participating Investigator Nutrition, Obesity and Cancer
Henry S. Buchwald, MD buchw001@umn.edu Department of Surgery UMN Associate Investigator
Tammy A. Butterick, PhD butte017@umn.edu Minnesota Obesity Neuroscience Lab VA Medical Center Participating Investigator Neuroscience of Obesity
Michael Camilleri, MD Camilleri.Michael@mayo.edu Physiology and Biomedical Engineering Mayo Clinic Participating Investigator Adult Obesity Treatment and Prevention, Human Energy Metabolism
Stephanie M. Carlson, PhD smc@umn.edu Institute of Child Development UMN Associate Investigator
Katie Carpenter, PhD carpe445@umn.edu Epidemiology & Community Health UMN Associate Investigator
Marilyn E. Carroll, PhD mcarroll@umn.edu Department of Neuroscience UMN Participating Investigator Neuroscience of Obesity
Chi Chen, PhD chichen@umn.edu Food Science & Nutrition UMN Participating Investigator Adipose Biology, Obesity and Energy Metabolism
Xiaoli Chen, MD, PhD xlchen@umn.edu Food Science & Nutrition UMN Participating Investigator Adipose Biology, Obesity and Energy Metabolism
Eduardo N. Chini, MD, PhD chini.eduardo@mayo.edu Anesthesiology Mayo Clinic Participating Investigator Adipose Biology, Obesity and Energy Metabolism
Lisa S. Chow, MD chow0007@umn.edu Department of Medicine UMN Participating Investigator Human Energy Metabolism
Matthew M. Clark, PhD clark.matthew@mayo.edu Psychiatry & Psychology Mayo Clinic Associate Investigator
Margot P. Cleary, PhD mpcleary@hi.umn.edu Hormel Institute UMN Participating Investigator Nutrition, Obesity and Cancer
Cheryl A. Conover, PhD conover.cheryl@mayo.edu Mayo Clinic Cancer Center Mayo Clinic Participating Investigator Adipose Biology, Obesity and Energy Metabolism
Jillian Croll, Ph.D. jillian@emilyprogram.com The Emily Program UMN Associate Investigator
Scott J. Crow, MD crowx002@umn.edu Department of Psychiatry UMN Participating Investigator Adult Obesity Treatment and Prevention, Childhood Obesity, Eating Disorders
Timothy B. Curry, MD, PhD curry.timothy@mayo.edu Anesthesiology Mayo Clinic Associate Investigator
Ellen W. Demerath, PhD ewd@umn.edu Epidemiology & Community Health UMN Participating Investigator Childhood Obesity
Yibin Deng, MD, PhD yideng@hi.umn.edu Hormel Institute UMN Participating Investigator Nutrition, Obesity and Cancer
Donald R. Dengel, PhD denge001@umn.edu School of Kinesiology UMN Participating Investigator Adult Obesity Treatment and Prevention, Childhood Obesity, Human Energy Metabolism
Jay Desai, PhD, MPH Jay.R.Desai@healthpartners.com HealthPartners Institute for Education & Research HealthPartners Participating Investigator Health Systems and Policy
Zigang Dong, MD, DrPH zgdong@hi.umn.edu Hormel Institute UMN Participating Investigator Nutrition, Obesity and Cancer
Carrie P. Earthman, PhD cearthma@umn.edu Food Science & Nutrition UMN Participating Investigator Human Energy Metabolism
Norman L. Eberhardt, PhD eberhardt@mayo.edu Medicine, Endocrinology & Metabolism Mayo Clinic Associate Investigator
Elke D. Eckert, MD ecker001@umn.edu Department of Psychiatry UMN Associate Investigator
Nacide G. Ercan-Fang, MD ercan001@umn.edu Center for Diabetes Research VAMC Associate Investigator
Aaron R. Folsom, MD folso001@umn.edu Epidemiology & Community Health UMN Participating Investigator Adult Obesity Treatment and Prevention
Patricia Fontaine, MD fonta002@umn.edu Family Medicine & Community Health UMN Associate Investigator
Simone A. French, PhD frenc001@umn.edu Epidemiology & Community Health UMN Participating Investigator Adult Obesity Treatment and Prevention, Childhood Obesity, Health Systems and Policy
Brigitte I. Frohnert, MD, PhD frohn001@umn.edu Pediatrics UMN Associate Investigator
Paul T. Fuglestad, PhD fugl0025@umn.edu Epidemiology & Community Health UMN Associate Investigator
Jayne A. Fulkerson, PhD fulke001@umn.edu School of Nursing UMN Participating Investigator Childhood Obesity
Daniel D. Gallaher, PhD dgallahe@umn.edu Food Science & Nutrition UMN Associate Investigator
Dwenda Gjerdingen, MD gjerd001@umn.edu Family Medicine & Community Health UMN Associate Investigator
Sergio Gradilone, PhD sgradilone@hi.umn.edu Hormel Institute UMN Participating Investigator Nutrition, Obesity and Cancer
Timothy J. Griffin, PhD tgriffin@umn.edu Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics UMN Participating Investigator Adipose Biology, Obesity and Energy Metabolism
ZengKui Guo, PhD guo.zengkui@mayo.edu Medicine, Endocrinology & Metabolism Mayo Clinic Associate Investigator
Jennifer L. Hall, PhD JLHall@umn.edu Department of Medicine UMN Participating Investigator Adipose Biology, Obesity and Energy Metabolism
Lisa J. Harnack, PhD harna001@umn.edu Epidemiology & Community Health UMN Participating Investigator Adult Obesity Treatment and Prevention, Childhood Obesity
Guilford G. Hartley, MD hartl002@umn.edu Endocrinology, Metabolism & Nutrition Hennepin County Medical Center Associate Investigator
Carrie Haskell-Luevano, PhD chaskell@umn.edu Department of Medicinal Chemistry UMN Participating Investigator Neuroscience of Obesity
Erhard Haus, MD, PhD hausx001@umn.edu Lab Medicine & Pathology, Regions Hospital UMN Associate Investigator
Mary O. Hearst, PhD hearst@umn.edu Epidemiology & Community Health UMN Associate Investigator
Deborah J. Hennrikus, PhD hennrikus@umn.edu Epidemiology & Community Health UMN Associate Investigator
Sayeed Ikramuddin, MD ikram001@umn.edu Department of Surgery UMN Associate Investigator
David R. Jacobs, PhD jacob004@umn.edu Epidemiology & Community Health UMN Participating Investigator Adult Obesity Treatment and Prevention
Robert W. Jeffery, PhD jeffe001@umn.edu Epidemiology & Community Health UMN Participating Investigator Adult Obesity Treatment and Prevention, Health Systems and Policy
Michael D. Jensen, MD jensen.michael@mayo.edu Medicine, Endocrinology & Metabolism Mayo Clinic Participating Investigator Adipose Biology, Obesity and Energy Metabolism, Adult Obesity Treatment and Prevention, Human Energy Metabolism
L’Aurelle A. L. Johnson, PhD joh02745@umn.edu Experimental and Clinical Pharmacology UMN Associate Investigator
Sidney Jones, MD sidney.jones@co.hennipin.mn.us Endocrinology, Metabolism & Nutrition Hennepin County Medical Center Associate Investigator
Michael J. Joyner, MD joyner.michael@mayo.edu Anesthesiology Mayo Clinic Participating Investigator Human Energy Metabolism
Daniel R. Kaiser, PhD kaise018@tc.umn.edu St. Paul Heart Clinic UMN Associate Investigator
Aaron S. Kelly, PhD kelly105@umn.edu Department of Pediatrics UMN Participating Investigator Childhood Obesity
Alexander Khoruts, MD khoru001@umn.edu Department of Medicine UMN Participating Investigator Adult Obesity Treatment and Prevention, Human Energy Metabolism
Do-Hyung Kim, PhD dhkim@umn.edu Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics UMN Participating Investigator Adipose Biology, Obesity and Energy Metabolism
James L. Kirkland, MD, PhD kirkland.james@mayo.edu Aging Mayo Clinic Participating Investigator Adipose Biology, Obesity and Energy Metabolism
Dan Knights, PhD dknights@umn.edu Computer Science, BioTechnology Institute UMN Participating Investigator Adult Obesity Treatment and Prevention, Human Energy Metabolism
Catherine M. Kotz, PhD kotzx004@umn.edu Food Science & Nutrition UMN Participating Investigator Neuroscience of Obesity
Christina Koutsari, PhD Koutsari.Christina@mayo.edu Medicine, Endocrinology & Metabolism Mayo Clinic Associate Investigator
Martha Y. Kubik, PhD kubik002@umn.edu School of Nursing UMN Participating Investigator Childhood Obesity
Alicia S. Kunin-Batson, PhD alicia.s.kuninbatson@healthpartners.com HealthPartners Institute for Education & Research HealthPartners Participating Investigator Childhood Obesity
Mindy S. Kurzer, PhD mkurzer@umn.edu Food Science & Nutrition UMN Participating Investigator Adult Obesity Treatment and Prevention, Nutrition, Obesity and Cancer
Alex J. Lange, PhD lange024@umn.edu Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics UMN Associate Investigator
Nicole I. Larson, PhD larsonn@umn.edu Division of Epidemiology & Community Health UMN Participating Investigator Childhood Obesity
Melissa N. Laska, PhD nels5024@umn.edu Epidemiology & Community Health UMN Participating Investigator Adult Obesity Treatment and Prevention, Childhood Obesity, Health Systems and Policy
Nathan K. LeBrasseur, PhD lebrasseur.nathan@mayo.edu Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Mayo Clinic Participating Investigator Neuroscience of Obesity
Cynthia Leibson, PhD leibson.cynthia@mayo.edu Health Sciences Research Mayo Clinic Associate Investigator
Allen S. Levine, PhD ASLevine@umn.edu Food Science & Nutrition UMN Participating Investigator Neuroscience of Obesity
Bing Li, PhD bli@hi.umn.edu Hormel Institute UMN Associate Investigator
Kelvin O. Lim, MD kolim@umn.edu Department of Psychiatry UMN Participating Investigator Adult Obesity Treatment and Prevention, Neuroscience of Obesity
Jennifer A. Linde, Ph.D. linde074@umn.edu Epidemiology & Community Health UMN Participating Investigator Adult Obesity Treatment and Prevention, Eating Disorders
Laura Listenberger, PhD listenbe@stolaf.edu Biology & Chemistry St. Olaf College Associate Investigator
Shujun Liu, PhD sliu@hi.umn.edu Hormel Institute UMN Participating Investigator Nutrition, Obesity and Cancer
Douglas Mashek, PhD dmashek@umn.edu Food Science & Nutrition UMN Participating Investigator Adipose Biology, Obesity and Energy Metabolism
Laura J. Mauro, PhD mauro002@umn.edu Department of Animal Sciences UMN Associate Investigator
Meghan McGee-Lawrence, PhD mcgeelawrence.meghan@mayo.edu Biomedical Engineering Mayo Clinic Associate Investigator
K. Sreekumaran Nair, MD, PhD nairs@mayo.edu Medicine, Endocrinology & Metabolism Mayo Clinic Participating Investigator Human Energy Metabolism
Marilyn Susie Nanney, PhD msnanney@umn.edu Department of Family Medicine and Community Health UMN Participating Investigator Childhood Obesity
Toben Nelson, ScD tfnelson@umn.edu Epidemiology & Community Health UMN Associate Investigator
Thomas P. Neufeld, Ph.D. neufe003@umn.edu Genetics, Cell Biology, & Development UMN Participating Investigator Adipose Biology, Obesity and Energy Metabolism
Dianne Neumark-Sztainer, PhD neuma011@umn.edu Epidemiology & Community Health UMN Participating Investigator Adult Obesity Treatment and Prevention, Childhood Obesity, Eating Disorders
Ruby H.N. Nguyen, PhD nguy0082@umn.edu Epidemiology & Community Health UMN Associate Investigator
Colleen Novak, PhD Novak.Colleen@mayo.edu Medicine, Endocrinology & Metabolism Mayo Clinic Associate Investigator
Michael B. O'Connor, PhD moconnor@umn.edu Department of Genetics, Cell Biology & Development UMN Participating Investigator Adipose Biology, Obesity and Energy Metabolism
Patrick J. O’Connor, MD Patrick.J.OConnor@healthpartners.com HealthPartners Research Foundation Health Partners Participating Investigator Childhood Obesity, Health Systems and Policy
Carly Pacanowski, PhD cpacanow@umn.edu Epidemiology & Community Health UMN Associate Investigator
Emily D. Parker, PhD Emily.D.Parker@healthpartners.com HealthPartners Research Foundation Health Partners Associate Investigator
Mark A. Pereira, PhD map@umn.edu Epidemiology & Community Health UMN Participating Investigator Adult Obesity Treatment and Prevention, Childhood Obesity
Carol B. Peterson, PhD peter161@umn.edu Department of Psychiatry UMN Participating Investigator Eating Disorders
Lynda E. Polgreen, MD polgr001@umn.edu Department of Pediatrics UMN Associate Investigator
Lincoln R. Potter, PhD potter@umn.edu Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics UMN Participating Investigator Adipose Biology, Obesity and Energy Metabolism
A. David Redish, PhD redish@umn.edu Department of Neuroscience UMN Participating Investigator Neuroscience of Obesity
Bruce J. Redmon, MD redmo001@umn.edu Department of Medicine UMN Associate Investigator
Marla Reicks, PhD mreicks@umn.edu Food Science & Nutrition UMN Participating Investigator Adult Obesity Treatment and Prevention
Robert A. Rizza, MD Rizza.Robert@mayo.edu Medicine, Endocrinology & Metabolism Mayo Clinic Participating Investigator Human Energy Metabolism
Alexander Rothman, PhD rothm001@umn.edu Department of Psychology UMN Associate Investigator
Michael J. Sadowsky, PhD sadowsky@umn.edu The BioTechnology Institute UMN Participating Investigator Adipose Biology, Obesity and Energy Metabolism, Adult Obesity Treatment and Prevention, Human Energy Metabolism
Michel Sanders, PhD sande001@umn.edu Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics UMN Associate Investigator
Mary Schmidl, PhD mschmidl@umn.edu Food Science & Nutrition UMN Associate Investigator
William B. Schrage, PhD wschrage@education.wisc.edu Anesthesiology Mayo Clinic Associate Investigator
Sarah Jane Schwarzenberg, MD schwa005@umn.edu Department of Pediatrics UMN Associate Investigator
Elizabeth R. Seaquist, MD seaqu001@umn.edu Department of Medicine UMN Participating Investigator Adult Obesity Treatment and Prevention, Neuroscience of Obesity
Nancy E. Sherwood, PhD Nancy.E.Sherwood@healthpartners.com HealthPartners Research Foundation Health Partners Participating Investigator Adult Obesity Treatment and Prevention, Childhood Obesity, Health Systems and Policy
Shalamar D. Sibley, MD sible004@umn.edu Department of Medicine UMN Participating Investigator Human Energy Metabolism
Joanne L. Slavin, PhD jslavin@umn.edu Food Science & Nutrition UMN Associate Investigator
Virend K. Somers, MD somers.virend@mayo.edu Cardiovascular Diseases Mayo Clinic Participating Investigator Human Energy Metabolism
Guisheng Song, PhD gsong@umn.edu Department of Medicine UMN Participating Investigator Adipose Biology, Obesity and Energy Metabolism
Lyn M. Steffen, PhD steff025@umn.edu Epidemiology & Community Health UMN Participating Investigator Adult Obesity Treatment and Prevention
Julia Steinberger, MD stein055@umn.edu Department of Pediatrics UMN Participating Investigator Childhood Obesity
Stephen D. Stovitz, MD stovitz@umn.edu Family Medicine & Community Health UMN Associate Investigator
Jennifer A. Teske, PhD teskeja@umn.edu Department of Food Science and Nutrition UMN Participating Investigator Neuroscience of Obesity
Mark J. Thomas, PhD tmhomas@umn.edu Department of Neuroscience UMN Participating Investigator Neuroscience of Obesity
Maureen Timlin, PhD timlin@epi.umn.edu Epidemiology & Community Health UMN Associate Investigator
Pam Van Zyl York, PhD pam.york@health.state.mn.us MN Department of Health MNDOH Associate Investigator
Johannes D. Veldhuis, MD Veldhuis.Johannes@mayo.edu Medicine, Endocrinology & Metabolism Mayo Clinic Participating Investigator Human Energy Metabolism
Adrian Vella, MD vella.adrian@mayo.edu Medicine, Endocrinology & Metabolism Mayo Clinic Participating Investigator Adult Obesity Treatment and Prevention, Human Energy Metabolism
Ann Vogel Hertzel, PhD ann-v@BIOSCI.CBS.UMN.EDU Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics UMN Associate Investigator
ChuanFeng Wang, MD, PhD cwang@umn.edu Food Science & Nutrition UMN Participating Investigator Neuroscience of Obesity
Li-Na Wei, PhD weixx009@umn.edu Pharmacology UMN Participating Investigator Adipose Biology, Obesity and Energy Metabolism
Catherine C. Welch, PhD cwelch@umn.edu Food Science & Nutrition UMN Associate Investigator
Jennifer J. Westendorf, Ph.D. westendorf.jennifer@mayo.edu Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics Mayo Clinic Participating Investigator Adipose Biology, Obesity and Energy Metabolism
Thomas A. White, PhD white.thomas@mayo.edu Anesthesiology UMN Associate Investigator
Kevin Wickman, PhD wickm002@umn.edu Department of Pharmacology UMN Associate Investigator
Da-Qing Yang, PhD dyang@hi.umn.edu Hormel Institute UMN Participating Investigator Nutrition, Obesity and Cancer
Jeongsik Yong, PhD jyong@umn.edu Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics UMN Associate Investigator