Adipose Biology, Obesity and Energy Metabolism

Research Focus: The adipose cell research group explores the molecular and cellular biology of adipose tissue, with particular interests in adipose metabolism and its role in the development of obesity and insulin resistance. Studies carried out by faculty in this focal group emphasize the development of adipose tissue, transcriptional control of adipocyte genes, the role of adipose inflammation in metabolic disease and the linkage between adipose biology of overall energy homeostasis. This focal group extends beyond fat biology to include work in muscle and liver (Chini, Jensen and Mashek) that integrates with obesity. Moreover, model systems such as flies and worms are studied (O’Connor) to utilize genetics as a major experimental tool.

Faculty page Email Department/Division Affiliation
Jeffrey H. Albrecht, MD albre010@umn.edu Department of Medicine UMN
Emilyn U. Alejandro, PhD ealejand@umn.edu Department of Integrative Biology and Physiology UMN
Alessandro Bartolomucci, PhD abartolo@umn.edu Integrative Biology & Physiology UMN
David A. Bernlohr, PhD bernl001@umn.edu Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics UMN
Charles J. Billington, MD billi005@umn.edu Center for Diabetes Research VAMC
Chi Chen, PhD chichen@umn.edu Food Science & Nutrition UMN
Xiaoli Chen, MD, PhD xlchen@umn.edu Food Science & Nutrition UMN
Eduardo N. Chini, MD, PhD chini.eduardo@mayo.edu Anesthesiology Mayo Clinic
Cheryl A. Conover, PhD conover.cheryl@mayo.edu Mayo Clinic Cancer Center Mayo Clinic
Timothy J. Griffin, PhD tgriffin@umn.edu Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics UMN
Jennifer L. Hall, PhD JLHall@umn.edu Department of Medicine UMN
Michael D. Jensen, MD jensen.michael@mayo.edu Medicine, Endocrinology & Metabolism Mayo Clinic
Do-Hyung Kim, PhD dhkim@umn.edu Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics UMN
James L. Kirkland, MD, PhD kirkland.james@mayo.edu Aging Mayo Clinic
Douglas Mashek, PhD dmashek@umn.edu Food Science & Nutrition UMN
Thomas P. Neufeld, Ph.D. neufe003@umn.edu Genetics, Cell Biology, & Development UMN
Michael B. O'Connor, PhD moconnor@umn.edu Department of Genetics, Cell Biology & Development UMN
Lincoln R. Potter, PhD potter@umn.edu Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics UMN
Michael J. Sadowsky, PhD sadowsky@umn.edu The BioTechnology Institute UMN
Guisheng Song, PhD gsong@umn.edu Department of Medicine UMN
Li-Na Wei, PhD weixx009@umn.edu Pharmacology UMN
Jennifer J. Westendorf, Ph.D. westendorf.jennifer@mayo.edu Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics Mayo Clinic