Human Energy Metabolism

Research Focus: The metabolism group primarily studies fat and energy metabolism in humans, with recent additional secondary focus on metabolomics in humans and animal models. More recently, new investigators in the area of microbiome research have joined the MNOC (Knights, Sadowsky, Khoruts). Indeed, the role of the microbiome in regulating energy metabolism in humans is a major theme for MNOC investigators and relies heavily on the Metabolomics and Stable Isotopes Core to assess the role of short chain fatty acids in energy metabolism.

Faculty page Email Department/Division Affiliation
Ananda Basu, MD basu.ananda@mayo.edu Medicine, Endocrinology & Metabolism Mayo Clinic
Rita Basu, MD basu.rita@mayo.edu Medicine, Endocrinology & Metabolism Mayo Clinic
David A. Bernlohr, PhD bernl001@umn.edu Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics UMN
Michael Camilleri, MD Camilleri.Michael@mayo.edu Physiology and Biomedical Engineering Mayo Clinic
Lisa S. Chow, MD chow0007@umn.edu Department of Medicine UMN
Donald R. Dengel, PhD denge001@umn.edu School of Kinesiology UMN
Carrie P. Earthman, PhD cearthma@umn.edu Food Science & Nutrition UMN
Michael D. Jensen, MD jensen.michael@mayo.edu Medicine, Endocrinology & Metabolism Mayo Clinic
Michael J. Joyner, MD joyner.michael@mayo.edu Anesthesiology Mayo Clinic
Alexander Khoruts, MD khoru001@umn.edu Department of Medicine UMN
Dan Knights, PhD dknights@umn.edu Computer Science, BioTechnology Institute UMN
K. Sreekumaran Nair, MD, PhD nairs@mayo.edu Medicine, Endocrinology & Metabolism Mayo Clinic
Robert A. Rizza, MD Rizza.Robert@mayo.edu Medicine, Endocrinology & Metabolism Mayo Clinic
Michael J. Sadowsky, PhD sadowsky@umn.edu The BioTechnology Institute UMN
Shalamar D. Sibley, MD sible004@umn.edu Department of Medicine UMN
Virend K. Somers, MD somers.virend@mayo.edu Cardiovascular Diseases Mayo Clinic
Johannes D. Veldhuis, MD Veldhuis.Johannes@mayo.edu Medicine, Endocrinology & Metabolism Mayo Clinic
Adrian Vella, MD vella.adrian@mayo.edu Medicine, Endocrinology & Metabolism Mayo Clinic