Neuroscience of Obesity

Research Focus: The neuroscience group has a primary focus on the brain mechanisms regulating energy balance, most notably the neuroregulation of feeding behavior, brain regulation of physical activity, glucose and metabolite sensing in the brain, potential neuro-inflammatory effects of fatty acids, and the role of neurogenesis in maintenance of all these functions.

Faculty page Email Department/Division Affiliation
Alessandro Bartolomucci, PhD abartolo@umn.edu Integrative Biology & Physiology UMN
Tiffany R. Beckman, MD, MPH beckm004@umn.edu Department of Medicine UMN
Charles J. Billington, MD billi005@umn.edu Center for Diabetes Research VAMC
William S. (Stephen) Brimijoin, PhD brimijoi@mayo.edu Pharmacology Mayo Clinic
Tammy A. Butterick, PhD butte017@umn.edu Minnesota Obesity Neuroscience Lab VA Medical Center
Marilyn E. Carroll, PhD mcarroll@umn.edu Department of Neuroscience UMN
Carrie Haskell-Luevano, PhD chaskell@umn.edu Department of Medicinal Chemistry UMN
Catherine M. Kotz, PhD kotzx004@umn.edu Food Science & Nutrition UMN
Nathan K. LeBrasseur, PhD lebrasseur.nathan@mayo.edu Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Mayo Clinic
Allen S. Levine, PhD ASLevine@umn.edu Food Science & Nutrition UMN
Kelvin O. Lim, MD kolim@umn.edu Department of Psychiatry UMN
A. David Redish, PhD redish@umn.edu Department of Neuroscience UMN
Elizabeth R. Seaquist, MD seaqu001@umn.edu Department of Medicine UMN
Jennifer A. Teske, PhD teskeja@umn.edu Department of Food Science and Nutrition UMN
Mark J. Thomas, PhD tmhomas@umn.edu Department of Neuroscience UMN
ChuanFeng Wang, MD, PhD cwang@umn.edu Food Science & Nutrition UMN